Van Der Graaf Generator – The Quiet Zone / The Pleasure Dome (1977) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2015] {SACD-R + FLAC 24-88.2}

Van Der Graaf – The Quiet Zone / The Pleasure Dome (1977) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2015]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 53:20 minutes | Scans included | 2,18 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,02 GB
Genre: Rock

Somehow this combination made sense: a revised band (with Nic Potter returning on bass and the addition of Graham Smith, formerly of String Driven Thing, on violin) with a shortened name, and an album that was named twice, with different cover art for each name. What also made sense was the focus on shorter songs and a change of musical attitude. While Hammill could never entirely shake off his approach to songwriting, he was able to modify it somewhat. Working with the new band, he was able to generate considerably more energy than on World Record. “Lizard Play” and “Cat’s Eye/Yellow Fever (Running)” are wonderfully gymnastic songwriting exercises, yet remain engaging by dint of their forcefulness. Written and performed at the top of Hammill’s game, this album is a delight.

01. Lizard Play
02. The Habit Of The Broken Heart
03. The Siren Song
04. Last Frame
05. The Wave
06. Cat’s Eye / Yellow Fever (Running)
07. The Sphinx In The Face
08. Chemical World
09. The Sphinx Returns
10. Door
11. Ship Of Fools
12. The Wave [Demo Version]

DSD flat transferred from U.K. original analogue master tapes.
Edited in DSD by Manabu Matsumura at Universal Music Studios, Tokyo, in 2015.


FLAC 24-88.2