Uriah Heep – Look At Yourself [Remastered Edition] (1971/2017) [WEB FLAC]

Uriah Heep - Look At Yourself [Remastered Edition] (1971/2017) [WEB FLAC] Download

Artist: Uriah Heep
Album: Look At Yourself [Remastered Edition]
Genre: Hard Rock
Year: 1971/2017
Size: ~ 812 mb
Source: Digital Download
Quality: lossless
Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz / 16 Bit


The third time proved to be the charm for Uriah Heep: on Look at Yourself, the group perfects its fusion of heavy metal power and prog rock majesty, and the result is one of the best albums in the Heep catalog. The gauntlet is thrown down on the title track, a powerful rocker that layers its relentless hard rock attack with ornate vocal harmonies and quicksilver organ runs before climaxing with a tribal-sounding drum jam. The remainder of Look at Yourself presents an effective blend of gutsy guitar rock and organ-fueled prog excursions. In the rock arena, the gems are “Tears in My Eyes,” a powerful rocker driven by an almost rockabilly-style riff that stops midway for a surprising vocal harmony break supported by smooth wah-wah guitar, and “Love Machine,” a short, punchy slice of hard rock built on an infectious, stomping rhythm. However, the best track on the album is one of the more prog-oriented ones: “July Morning” starts with a pastoral organ riff, then builds into a heavy yet symphonic rock tune that divides its time between gentle acoustic verses and emotional, organ-fueled choruses before climaxing in a monstrous jam dominated by a swirling Moog synthesizer lead. Special note should also be taken of David Byron’s vocal performance; his multi-octave, operatic style was no doubt an influence on later metal vocalists like Rob Halford. All in all, Look at Yourself is both one of Uriah Heep’s finest, most cohesive albums and a high point of 1970s heavy metal. – AllMusic Review by Donald A. Guarisco


1 Look at Yourself (2017 Remastered)
2 I Wanna Be Free (2017 Remastered)
3 July Morning (2017 Remastered)
4 Tears in My Eyes (2017 Remastered)
5 Shadows of Grief (2017 Remastered)
6 What Should Be Done (2017 Remastered)
7 Love Machine (2017 Remastered)
8 I Wanna Be Free (Alternative Mix)
9 Tears in My Eyes (Alternative Mix)
10 What Should Be Done (Alternative Mix)
11 Shadows of Grief (Alternative Mix)
12 Look At Yourself (Alternative Mix)
13 July Morning (Alternative Mix)
14 Why Fourteen Minutes (Alternative Mix)
15 Love Machine (Alternative Mix)
16 Whats Within My Heart (Alternative Mix)
17 July Morning (Alternative Mix; Live)
18 Look At Yourself (Alternative Single Version)