The Gloaming – The Gloaming (2013) [B&W 24-48]

The Gloaming – The Gloaming (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 59:53 minutes | 659 MB | Genre: Folk, Celtic, Irish Folk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Bowers & Wilkins | Artwork: Digital Booklet | © Real World Records

The debut album, entitled ‘The Gloaming’, was released on Real World Records in January 2014. The reviews have been unanimous in their praise for The Gloaming’s unique approach to Irish music: their respect for the traditions whilst bringing an unconventional energy into the mix. At sell-out shows in prestigious venues internationally, audiences have been blown away by The Gloaming’s breathtaking virtuosity and spirited set.

The album featured in The Guardian’s “the one album you should hear this week”; was described as “a sumptuous debut” by Mojo Magazine; “brilliantly innovative” by Songlines Magazine; “contemporary music making at its very best” by The Irish Times; “thoroughly polished” by The Sunday Times. It’ll come as no surprise that ‘The Gloaming’ featured on many Best Albums of 2014 lists, including The Guardian, The Irish Times, Nialler9, NPR, Deezer, fRoots and Songlines.

The Gloaming were the worthy winners of the 2014 Meteor Choice Prize for Irish album of the year, fending off competition from other nominees, including albums from Hozier, Aphex Twin, Sinead O’Connor, U2 and Damien Rice.

These five virtuoso musicians started initial work on the album in early 2011. Each came at Irish music from their own perspective, bringing a slightly different take on the rich musical heritage and traditions. The music they began to create was sparse and beautiful, authentic and tune-filled, music that went on to be described by The Irish Times as “of an entirely different hue: neither slavishly traditional nor wilfully contemporary.”
The traditional foundations are laid by fiddler Martin Hayes, who grew up in County Clare, his longstanding partner, the guitarist Dennis Cahill, and Dublin-born Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh, who plays the fiddle, five-string viola, and hardanger fiddle (the national instrument of Norway). Iarla Ó Lionáird is a master of the sean-nós (“in the old way”) Irish song style, but is also well known as singer with Afro Celt Sound System, the group that made many ground-breaking recordings during the nineties. Young pianist Thomas Bartlett brings a twist to the ensemble, his “subtle piano playing is laced through the Gloaming’s music, moving it, and the music of Ireland, in captivating new directions.” The New Yorker

The Gloaming carves new paths connecting the rich Irish folk tradition and the New York contemporary music scene. From haunting sean-nós songs to raucous folk explosions, they make music that is both ancient and utterly new.

The new album, simply entitled The Gloaming was produced by Thomas Bartlett (Glen Hansard, Sam Amidon) and mixed by Patrick Dillett (David Byrne & St. Vincent).

“The Gloaming fully exploit the rich sonic possibilities which Thomas Bartlett’s piano, Dennis Cahill’s guitar and Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh’s fiddles brought to the party…. The warmth of Ó Lionáird’s voice was immediately evident, as were the show-stopping impact of Vermont-born Bartlett’s lines on the piano… The Gloaming’s newly forged songs were a revelation.” The Irish Times

1 Song 44 6:44
2 Allistrum’s March 4:12
3 The Necklace Of Wrens / An Muince Dreoilíní 3:47
4 The Girl Who Broke My Heart 2:17
5 Freedom / Saoirse 5:04
6 The Sailor’s Bonnet 4:15
7 The Old Bush 7:35
8 Opening Set 16:39
9 Hunting The Squirrel 3:22
10 Samhradh Samhradh 5:56

Iarla Ó Lionáird – Vocals
Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh – Hardanger d’Amore
Dennis Cahill – Guitar
Martin Hayes – Fiddle
Thomas Bartlett – Piano