Tasha Taylor – Honey For The Biscuit (2016) [FLAC]

FLAC / Lossless / log / cue
Label/Cat#:Ruf Records
Year: 18 March 2016

Her dad, Stax legend Johnnie Taylor (1934-2000), was known for #1 hits such as I Believe In You, Whos Making Love, and Disco Lady (the first certified platinum single ever). But Taylor doesn t rest on her pedigree. She s produced her third album beautifully, spotlighting her singing with Don Wyatt on Wurlitzer piano, plus sax, guitar, bass, horns and percussion. She plays guitar and percussion herself. If thats not enough, Taylor wrote all 13 songs, alone or with Tom Hambridge and Richard Fleming, tackling tough moments when feelings take over and its hard to think clearly.

The opener, Feels So Good, celebrates freedom after a breakup, with a classic Stax groove, a modern, electronic gloss, appealing reverb and first-rate backup vocals. A bluesy charmer, Little Miss Suzie, tells of a woman who seeks pleasure without a thought for the consequences. Taylors at her best here, modern and rootsy, edgy and comfortable. The meaty story and impassioned performance of That Man are a perfect blend that deserves a video.

On Leave That Dog Alone, a witty strut with a crisp groove, Samantha Fish s blistering guitar and soulful backup vocals sound like a whole houseful of sisters have got Taylors back. Taylor will set your shoulders moving as she sings, Better Leave That Dog Alone/ because his back ain t got no bone. Special guests include Keb Mo (guitar, vocals) and Robert Randolph (lap steel).

1. Feels so Good (3:59)
2. Wedding Bells (4:28)
3. Family Tree (3:52)
4. Weatherman (2:56)
5. One and Only (4:37)
6. Little Miss Suzie (3:12)
7. I Knew (3:22)
8. How Long (2:33)
9. That Man (3:53)
10. Leave That Dog Alone (3:44)
11. Places I Miss (4:47)
12. Don’t Rush Off (3:08)
13. Same Old Thing (4:08)