Steven Tyler – We are All Somebody From Somewhere (2016) [Web FLAC]

FLAC / Lossless / WEB
LABEL…Dot Records
YEAR… July 15 2016

“Country music is the new rock & roll,” proclaims Steven Tyler in a press release for his new, and first, solo album, the inclusively titled We’re All Somebody From Somewhere

That may come as a surprise to those of us who thought country music preceded and informed rock. But let’s not quibble: Tyler is hardly the first arena rock star to embrace roots music to convey a certain rugged authenticity. A country makeover saved Darius Rucker from becoming the Huey Lewis of his generation, and who could forget Jon “I’m a cowboy” Bon Jovi and his band’s Lost Highway?

We’re All Somebody, out July 15, doesn’t present a radical departure any more than those project did, though there are some stretch marks. Co-produced by Tyler with an impeccably credentialed team of country and rock vets — T-Bone Burnett, Dann Huff, Marti Frederiksen, Jaren Johnston of the Cadillac Three — the album can nonetheless prove surprisingly flavorless, as Aerosmith’s famously flamboyant frontman seems to strive for an earthier earnestness that isn’t a natural fit.

1. My Own Worst Enemy (5:11)
2. Were All Somebody from Somewhere (2:57)
3. Hold On (Wont Let Go) (2:53)
4. It Ain’t Easy (4:05)
5. Love Is Your Name (3:30)
6. I Make My Own Sunshine (3:01)
7. Gypsy Girl (4:29)
8. Somebody New (4:11)
9. Only Heaven (3:24)
10. The Good, the Bad, the Ugly and Me (3:28)
11. RED, WHITE and YOU (3:02)
12. Sweet Louisiana (3:02)
13. What Am I Doin Right? (3:25)
14. Janies Got a Gun (3:29)
15. Piece of My Heart (4:22)