Robin Trower – Original Album Series (5CD Box Set) (2014) [FLAC]

Artist……………: Robin Trower
Album…………….: Original Album Series
Genre…………….: Rock
Source……………: CD
Year……………..: 2014
Ripper……………: EAC (Secure mode) / LAME 3.92 & Asus CD-S520
Codec…………….: Free Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC)
Version…………..: reference libFLAC 1.2.1 20070917
Quality…………..: Lossless, (avg. compression: 58 %)
Channels………….: Stereo / 44100 HZ / 16 Bit
Posted by…………: Beolab1700 on 14/08/2014

Funny how quickly some people can get written out of rock history.
British guitarist Robin Trower once commanded considerable column inches in rock magazines and encyclopedias of the Seventies and Eighties, but by the Nineties he wasn’t even appearing in most.
Yet, especially in the Seventies, people would seriously discuss him as having inherited Hendrix’s mantle, and albums like Twice Removed From Yesterday (in ’73) and Bridge of Sighs (’74) were on many discerning play-loud turntables.
He’d come into hard rock through the usual route of r’n’b in the Sixties (he’d been in bands called the Paramount and their offshoot the Jam) before playing on albums by former Paramount mates in their new group Procol Harum, although he didn’t actually play on their big hit Whiter Shade of Pale.
After five albums with them he formed a power band Jude in ’71 with singer Frankie Miller, former Jethro Tull drummer Clive Bunker and bassist Jim Dewar.
Over time they morphed into the Robin Trower Band and then with various changing line-ups albums simply appeared under his own name as he explored slower, more bluesy Hendrix-edged styles in a power trio.
Those two previously mentioned albums did well for him in the States (especially the latter) and his home country was rather slower to catch on, although For the Earth Below (’75) was a big seller on both sides of the Atlantic.
There was a live album recorded in Stockholm (they didn’t know it was being recorded he said later) and then the equally good Long Misty Days (’76) before punk arrived and largely put paid to guitar heroes of the Trower kind.
He subsequently worked with Cream bassist/singer Jack Bruce, had an on-again off-again relationship with Procol Harum, produced a few Bryan Ferry albums, kept recording (20th Century Blues in ’94 went somewhat overlooked) and . . .
And the real oil though is on those first four studio albums and the live set, all of which are in this tidy little package where you can hear his black-soul and blues spirit coupled with power rock.
These days it’s probably hard to get a conversation going about Robin Trower let alone one of those arguments about whether he was the equal of Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton and so on.
If the idea of power trio rock is something that makes you want to kiss the sky then this package really comes highly recommended.


CD1 Twice Removed From Yesterday
1. I Can’t Wait Much Longer (2010 Digital Remaster)
2. Daydream (2010 Digital Remaster)
3. Hannah (2010 Digital Remaster)
4. Man Of The World (2010 Digital Remaster)
5. I Can’t Stand It (2010 Digital Remaster)
6. Rock Me Baby (2010 Digital Remaster)
7. Twice Removed From Yesterday (2010 Digital Remaster)
8. Sinner’s Song (2010 Digital Remaster)
9. Ballerina (2010 Digital Remaster)

CD2 Bridge Of Sighs
1. Day Of The Eagle (2007 – Remaster)
2. Bridge Of Sighs (2007 – Remaster)
3. In This Place (2007 – Remaster)
4. The Fool And Me (2007 – Remaster)
5. Too Rolling Stoned (2007 – Remaster)
6. About To Begin (2007 – Remaster)
7. Lady Love (2007 – Remaster)
8. Little Bit Of Sympathy (2010 – Remaster)

CD3 For Earth Below
1. Shame The Devil (2010 Digital Remaster)
2. It’s Only Money (2010 Digital Remaster)
3. Confessin’ Midnight (2010 Digital Remaster)
4. Fine Day (2010 Digital Remaster)
5. Alethea (2010 Digital Remaster)
6. A Tale Untold (2010 Digital Remaster)
7. Gonna Be More Suspicious (2010 Digital Remaster)
8. For Earth Below (2010 Digital Remaster)

CD4 Live!
1. Too Rolling Stoned (Live;2010 Digital Remaster)
2. Daydream (Live;2010 Digital Remaster)
3. Rock Me Baby (Live;2010 Digital Remaster)
4. Lady Love (Live;2010 Digital Remaster)
5. I Can’t Wait Much Longer (Live;2010 Digital Remaster)
6. Alethea (Live;2010 Digital Remaster)
7. Little Bit Of Sympathy (Live;2010 Digital Remaster)

CD5 Long Misty Days
1. Same Rain Falls (2010 Digital Remaster)
2. Long Misty Days (2010 Digital Remaster)
3. Hold Me (2010 Digital Remaster)
4. Caledonia (2010 Digital Remaster)
5. Pride (2010 Digital Remaster)
6. Sailing (2010 Digital Remaster)
7. S.M.O. (2010 Digital Remaster)
8. I Can’t Live Without You (2010 Digital Remaster)
9. Messin’ The Blues (2010 Digital Remaster)