R.E.M. – 25th Anniversary Deluxe Editions [First Five Albums Remastered] [FLAC]

1. Murmur: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (2008) (Originally released in 1983) [Remastered w/ Bonus Disc: Live at Larry’s Hideaway, Toronto]

25th Anniversary Edition 2-CD set – Originally released in April 1983, R.E.M’s debut album drew critical acclaim upon its release for its sound, defined by singer Michael Stipe’s cryptic lyrics and guitarist Peter Buck’s jangly guitar style. This anniversary edition comprises the 11-track digitally remastered CD album featuring the single ‘Radio Free Europe’, and now comes expanded with Bonus 15-track CD including a previously unreleased live performance recorded at Larry’s Hideaway in Toronto, Canada on July 9, 1983.

2. Reckoning: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (2009) (Originally released in 1984) [Remastered w/ Bonus Disc: Live at the Aragon Ballroom, Chicago]

Digitally remastered and expanded deluxe two CD edition of the Alt-Rock band’s sophomore album featuring a bonus disc that contains a previously unreleased concert recorded during the band’s Little America tour at Chicago’s Aragon Ballroom on July 7, 1984, and broadcast on WXRT-FM. On the live disc, the group not only performs eight of Reckoning’s 10 songs but also new songs that had yet to make it onto tape: ‘Driver 8′ would later debut on R.E.M.’s third album and ‘Hyena’ on its fourth. The inclusion of the live concert is particularly appropriate for Reckoning. Whereas Murmur had been complex and painstakingly deliberate, the band’s Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe, along with producers Mitch Easter and Don Dixon, saw Reckoning as a ”chance to turn up the volume, tear up the rule book, and capture instead R.E.M.’s on-stage mojo,” according to the liner notes by author Tony Fletcher.

3. Fables of the Reconstruction: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (2010) (Originally released in 1985) [Remastered w/ Bonus Disc: The Athens Demos]

Originally released in 1985, R.E.M.’s 3rd album, Fables of The Reconstruction peaked at #28 on the Billboard charts and spawned two hit singles, Can t Get There From here and Driver 8. Breaking with their tradition of recording in Athens GA, the band recorded in England with producer Joe Boyd. This 25th Anniversary Edition features the classic album digitally remastered. The bonus disc is a complete run thorugh of the album done in studio in Athens, before the band left for London for the actual recording sessions. These demos have never before been released and feature three additional tracks, not on the final album, including “Throw Those Trolls Away, ” a song the band has never released.The albums are packaged in a lift top box and include a poster and 4 postcards, as well as the CD booklet.

4. Lifes Rich Pageant: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (2011) (Originally released in 1986) [Remastered w/ Bonus Disc: The Athens Demos]

R.E.M.’s fourth studio album, Lifes Rich Pageant was recorded by vocalist Michael Stipe, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist Mike Mills, and drummer Bill Berry at John Mellencamp’s Belmont Mall Studios in Indiana. Produced by Don Gehman, renowned for producing a string of punchy, soulful heartland-rock albums by Mellencamp, Pageant includes the singles Fall On Me and Superman. The album was R.E.M.’s first to achieve Gold certification status, and it reached #21 on Billboard s Top 200 Albums chart, the band s then-highest chart position. The 2CD lift top box contains the original album digitally remastered. Disc 2 contains “The Athens Demos,” 19 previously unreleased tracks recorded by the band before the final studio sessions. Also included is a new poster and postcards.

5. Document: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (2012) (Originally released in 1987) [Remastered w/ Bonus Disc: Live in Utrecht, Holland]
This new edition of Document features the digitally remastered original album, plus a previously unreleased 1987 concert from R.E.M. s Work tour. The commemorative release also adds new liner notes by journalist David Daley, with the 2CD package presented in a lift-top box with four postcards. R.E.M. s fifth studio album, Document was recorded by vocalist Michael Stipe, guitarist Peter Buck, bassist Mike Mills, and drummer Bill Berry at Nashville s Sound Emporium. The first of several R.E.M. albums to be co-produced by the band and Scott Litt, Document was also the band s first to go Platinum and includes the singles Finest Worksong, Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine), and The One I Love, R.E.M. s first Top 10 on the Billboard Hot 100. The album peaked at Number 10 in the U.S., spending 33 weeks on Billboard s Top 200. In his 1987 review of the album, Rolling Stone s David Fricke described Document as the fifth in a series of singular state-of-our-union addresses by America s most successful fringe band. Indeed, Document launches with a call-to-action, as Stipe sings, The time to rise / Has been engaged in Finest Worksong, bearing witness to history-repeating-itself tactics employed by the country s elected leaders, evidenced by the Iran-contra hearings, Star Wars missile defense saber-rattling, and a hyper-moralized Congress bent on restricting and regulating controversial language in the arts. All you have to do is turn on the TV, said Peter Buck at the time, And you re inundated with complete lies from people who are supposed to be running the country.