Prince – Parade: Music From The Motion Picture Under The Cherry Moon (1986/2013) [HDTracks 24-192]

Prince – Parade: Music From The Motion Picture Under The Cherry Moon (1986/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 40:53 minutes | 1,46 GB | Genre: Rock, Funk, Soul
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front cover

“Parade: Music From The Motion Picture Under The Cherry Moon” is Prince’s eighth studio album and the last album that he did with The Revolution. It was released as the soundtrack to the 1986 film Under the Cherry Moon, which was directed by Prince, who also starred in the film. The album was mostly a solo effort by Prince, who plays most of the instruments on the album. Other musicians featured on the album include Lisa Coleman, Wendy Melvoin, Dr. Fink, Jonathan Melvoin, and Susannah Melvoin, as well as featuring several orchestral arrangements by Clare Fischer.

Undaunted by the criticism Around the World in a Day received, Prince continued to pursue his psychedelic inclinations on Parade, which also functioned as the soundtrack to his second film, Under the Cherry Moon. Originally conceived as a double album, Parade has the sprawling feel of a double record, even if it clocks in around 45 minutes. Prince & the Revolution shift musical moods and textures from song to song – witness how the fluttering psychedelia of “Christopher Tracy’s Parade” gives way to the spare, jazzy funk of “New Position,” which morphs into the druggy “I Wonder U” – and they’re determined not to play it safe, even on the hard funk of “Girls and Boys” and “Mountains,” as well as the stunning “Kiss,” which hits hard with just a dry guitar, keyboard, drum machine, and layered vocals. All of the group’s musical adventures, even the cabaret-pop of “Venus de Milo” and “Do U Lie?” do nothing to undercut the melodicism of the record, and the amount of ground they cover in 12 songs is truly remarkable. Even with all of its attributes, Parade is a little off-balance, stopping too quickly to give the haunting closer, “Sometimes It Snows in April,” the resonance it needs. For some tastes, it may also be a bit too lyrically cryptic, but Prince’s weird religious and sexual metaphors develop into a motif that actually gives the album weight. If it had been expanded to a double album, Parade would have equaled the subsequent Sign ‘o’ the Times, but as it stands, it’s an astonishingly rewarding near-miss.

01 – Christopher Tracy’s Parade
02 – New Position
03 – I Wonder U
04 – Under The Cherry Moon
05 – Girls & Boys
06 – Life Can Be So Nice
07 – Venus De Milo
08 – Mountains
09 – Do U Lie?
10 – Kiss
11 – Anotherloverholenyohead
12 – Sometimes It Snows In April