Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth – Mecca and the Soul Brother [2CD Deluxe Edition Remastered Box Set] (2010) [FLAC]

Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth – Mecca and the Soul Brother [2CD Deluxe Edition Remastered Box Set] (2010) [FLAC]
flac – lossless | 976 MB | Hip-Hop

Sony Music and Traffic Entertainment Group proudly present Mecca And The Soul Brother, the critically acclaimed 1992 debut album from the Mount Vernon duo, Pete Rock & CL Smooth. The album is considered as one of the greatest Hip Hop albums of all time. Boasting tracks such as the first single, “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)”, a dedication to their deceased friend; “Trouble T-Roy”, which went on to become not only their signature hit, but also one of Hip Hop’s all-time great songs. The album is propelled forward by Rock’s quick, soulful interludes; usually bits of old R&B tunes layered with his signature trumpet and sax loops. Smooth’s liquid freestyle delivery pieces together the perfect vocal match that, together, creates a sprawling, nearly 80-minute-long album on which not a single song or interlude is a throwaway or a superfluous piece. Named one of the essential recordings of the 90s by Rolling Stone, among numerous other accolades, Mecca and the Soul Brother stands up without ever really dating itself and is now available in a beautiful 2xCD box set edition.

The first disc features the original 16 album tracks, remastered from the original masters recordings. The second disc contains 15 bonus versions and exclusives. Both discs come housed in individual ‘paste on’ style sleeves with brightly-colored printed dust sleeves. A 20-page book features in-depth liner notes written by Brian Coleman with contributions from Dante Ross, Pete Rock and CL Smooth. All this plus a full sized poster to boot. This reissue of an early 90s classic is a must have for any music collector or fan of good music.


101. Return Of The Mecca
102. For Pete’s Sake
103. Ghettos Of The Mind
104. Lots Of Lovin
105. Act Like You Know
106. Straighten It Out
107. Soul Brother #1
108. Wig Out
109. Anger In The Nation
110. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)
111. On And On
112. It’s Like That
113. Can’t Front On Me
114. The Basement Feat. Heavy D., Rob-o, Grap & Dida
115. If It Ain’t Rough, It Ain’t Right
116. Skinz Feat. Grand Puba


201. It’s Not A Game (Original 12” Version)
202. Lots Of Lovin (Remix)
203. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.) (Remix)
204. Straighten It Out (Remix)
205. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.) (Vibes Mix)
206. It’s Not A Game (Inst.)
207. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.) (Inst.)
208. The Basement (Inst.)
209. If It Ain’t Rough, It Ain’t Right (Inst.)
210. Skins (Inst.)
211. Straighten It Out (Inst.)
212. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.) (Remix Inst.)
213. Ghettos Of The Mind (A Capella)
214. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.) (A Capella)
215. The Basement (A Capella) Feat. Heavy D., Rob-o, Grap & Dida

All of the album art is included as well. Enjoy!