Ophelie Gaillard, Pulcinella Orchestra – C.P.E Bach Project (2014) [Qobuz 24-96]

C.P.E Bach Project – Ophelie Gaillard, Pulcinella Orchestra (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | 1 CD | Digital Booklet | 1.29 GB
Genre: Classical | Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz

A portrait, on the tercentenary of the composer’s birth, of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788), probably the most gifted of the sons of Johann Sebastian Bach. Highly admired in his own century by Haydn, Gluck and Mozart, he stands out today as a brilliant and highly original composer. For CPE Bach, music had to be an expression of personal feelings and to achieve his aim, he revolutionised the established principles of form, harmony and rhythm. The Trio Sonata ‘Sanguineus und Melancholicus’ is a rarity in the composer’s output in that it is a quasi-programmatic work. It presents a conversation between one sanguine (first violin) and the other melancholic (second violin). The same duality is found throughout the recordings presented here, from the well-known Sinfonia No. 5 to the two brilliant cello concertos. Under the bow of cellist Ophélie Gaillard, at the head of the Pulcinella Orchestra, these pieces come as a revelation!

Reviews: “the group’s well-nigh impeccable ensemble and palpable enthusiasm make it an ideal vehicle for CPE Bach at his most stormy and passionate. In the concertos, the energy is lightly handled, Gaillard dancing off-the-string with impressive bow-control.”


Cello Concerto in A minor, Wq. 170 (H. 432)
1 Allegro assai 10’25
2 Andante 7’21
3 Allegro assai 6’40

Sinfonia no. 5 in B minor, Wq. 182 (H. 661)
4 Allegretto 3’49
5 Larghetto 2’13
6 Presto 3’46

Cello Concerto in A major, Wq. 172 (H. 439)
7 Allegro 6’18
8 Largo 7’51
9 Allegro assai 5’09

Trio Sonata in C minor for two violins and continuo, Wq. 161 (H. 579)
10 Allegretto – Presto 5’00
11 Adagio 4’35
12 Allegro 8’52