Neil Diamond – Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show (1969/2016) [HDTracks 24-96]

Neil Diamond – Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show (1969/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:35 minutes | 821 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover| © Geffen Records

Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show is the name of Neil Diamond’s fourth studio album, released in 1969. Four months after the title cut became a #22 hit, Diamond recorded and released a new single, “Sweet Caroline”, which reached #4. Because of its popularity, this song was added to the end of later pressings of the album, which was also given a new sleeve with the album shown as Sweet Caroline/Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show although the title was still written as Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show on the label.

Neil Diamond’s second album for Uni offered the typical strengths and weaknesses of his LPs for the label. The strengths? A good single (the title track) and a rather remarkable stylistic diversity. The weaknesses? The failure of any of the other tracks to stand out nearly as much as the single, and the feeling that sometimes Diamond was doing something just to prove he could do it, without the quality material to justify the experimentation. Although taken by itself almost any track sounds normal, running all together the record sounds kind of weird. There’s a rather respectable Dion-esque bluesy groove on “Dig In” (cool stuttering organ on this one); “River Runs, New Grown Plums” has the stop-start rhythm and crisp AM production of earlier singles like “Kentucky Woman,” but isn’t as strong a tune. Less impressively, “Long Gone” is tinged with country-rock; “And the Grass Won’t Pay No Mind” and “Juliet” are above-average MOR pop; “Hurtin’ You Don’t Come Easy” is introspective singer/songwriting; and “You’re So Sweet Horseflies Keep Hangin’ ‘Round Your Face” is dumb country satire. At other points, it just sounds like his late-’60s singles, without being strong enough to justify inclusion on a 45. The album was improved considerably when the hit “Sweet Caroline” was added after its initial release, and the title changed to Sweet Caroline: Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show. ~~AllMusic Review by Richie Unterberger

1 Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show 3:27
2 Dig In 2:41
3 River Runs, Newgrown Plums 1:58
4 Juliet 2:51
5 Long Gone 3:18
6 And The Grass Won’t Pay No Mind 3:33
7 Glory Road 3:19
8 Deep In The Morning 3:04
9 If I Never Knew Your Name 3:17
10 Memphis Streets 2:40
11 You’re So Sweet Horseflies Keep Hangin’ ‘Round Your Face 3:13
12 Hurtin’ You Don’t Come Easy 2:32

Neil Diamond – Composer, Guitar, Vocals