Natalie Merchant – Tigerlily (1995/2006) [Qobuz 24-96]

Natalie Merchant – Tigerlily (1995/2006)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 00:50:23 minutes | 977 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz |  © Elektra Entertainment
Recorded: December 1994-March 1995 at Bearsville Studios, Bearsville, NY

The first solo album from Natalie Merchant, formerly of 10,000 Maniacs, is a nice blend of this beautiful singer’s talents. Starting out with the mellow “San Andreas Fault”, one can see the true talent in her lyrics. The softness of her mesmerizing voice can lead one into a trance. The whole album is very relaxing, with the few more upbeat songs being “Carnival” and Jealousy”.

A fine first solo album, Merchant explores and experiments with various instruments and techniques. The fine percussion work of Adriá n ló pez Guevarra in “Where I Go” adds a soft festivity to the song. Also, the cello in “Seven Years” helps add to the contrasting energy within the final track of the album, leaving the listener with a sense of awe as the album comes to an end.

Tigerlily, Natalie Merchant’s first solo record, does sound different than 10,000 Maniacs. Instead of relying strictly on jangly folk-rock, Merchant continues opening her music up as she did on Our Time in Eden, her last album with the Maniacs. From the understated groove of “Carnival” to the rolling “San Andreas Fault,” the added emphasis on rhythmic texture works, creating an intimate but not exclusive atmosphere that holds throughout the record, even when her occasionally sophomoric, sentimental poetry threatens to sink the album in the weight of its own preciousness (as in “River,” her tribute to the late actor River Phoenix). –AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. San Andreas Fault 03:58
2. Wonder 04:25
3. Beloved Wife 05:02
4. River 05:32
5. Carnival 05:59
6. I May Know The Word 08:08
7. The Letter 02:12
8. Cowboy Romance 04:39
9. Jealousy 02:41
10. Where I Go 04:00
11. Seven Years 05:30

Natalie Merchant – Vocals, Piano, Organ, Vibraphone
John Holbrook – Organ, Electric Guitar, Engineer
Katell Keineg – Background Vocals
Barrie Maguire – Bass, 12 String Guitar
Jay Ungar – Violin
Peter Yanowitz – Percussion, Drums
Michelle Kinney – Cello
Matt Henderson – Bass, Electric Guitar
Eric Schenkman – Electric Guitar
Adrian Lopez Guevarra – Percussion
Jennifer Turner – Acoustic & Electric Guitar, Background Vocals