Michael Hearne & Shake Russell – Only as Strong as Your Dreams (2016) Web FLAC

Label/Cat#: Howlin’ Dog Records / 888295408745
Year:Mar 01, 2016

This is a collection that lives up to what you expect from combining two lifetimes of singing, playing, and songwriting – deep, varied, bright and dark, hot and cool.There are stellar contributions from both Michael and Shake, but combining all the varied elements they both bring is what truly creates the magic, together with the lovingly crafted arrangements featuring co-producer Don Richmond, as well as long-time collaborators Carmen Acciaioli, Jimmy Stadler, and Mike Roberts.

Both Hearne and Russell play music in a style that is hard to categorize, but one that their label Howlin’ Dog Records calls “Southwestern Americana” – a sound of wide open vistas, big blue sky, high mountains, and deep canyons, with folk, country and rock sensitivities, and stories of real people finding their way through their lives.

Hearne and Russell are truly a powerhouse duo, with two long lifetimes spent writing, singing and playing the songs of Texas and the great Southwest. Shake s deep poetry, beautiful love songs and delightfully expressive vocal and guitar work are perfectly complemented by Michael s blazing musicianship, whiskey-velvet voice (as friend Eliza Gilkyson described it), and his own rich and varied songwriting.

Michael Hearne –

Although a native of Dallas and once again making Texas his home, Michael s music will always be influenced by his decades spent living, writing, recording and performing (often with his band South by Southwest) in the painter s light, poet s sky of Taos, New Mexico, crafting the signature clarity of his Southwestern Americana sound. His song Evergreen was nominated for song of the year at the Texas Music Awards and others have been cut by Gary P. Nunn, Jerry Jeff Walker and Johnny Rodriguez.

Shake Russell –

Texas singer-songwriter Shake Russell has been entertaining audiences with his unique, Americana style of folk-rock since the 1970 s. Shake s songs and albums have frequented the Billboard charts over the years, with many, including Deep in the West, You ve Got a Lover, Put Yourself in My Shoes, One More Payment, and Our Kind of Love being recorded by artists such as Waylon Jennings, Jessi Colter, Ricky Skaggs, and Clint Black. Shake was recently inducted in to the Texas Songwriter Legends Hall of Fame and is a two-time recipient of the BMI Million Air award and a four-time recipient of the BMI Writer s Award.

01. I Got News for You (3:35)
02. I Heart Texas (4:02)
03. Only as Strong as Your Dreams (3:39)
04. The Girl Just Loves to Dance (4:12)
05. Loser’s Gumbo (4:34)
06. Irish Prayer (4:47)
07. You Make the Blues Feel Like a Sunny Day (3:21)
08. This Is What Happy Is (3:14)
09. The Angel’s Share (3:24)
10. So Late so Soon (3:26)
11. Ballad of the Snow Leopard and the Tanqueray Cowboy (3:52)