Ivas John – Good Days A Comin (2016) Web FLAC

Year: June 4, 2015

The Ivas John Band s longtime lineup consists of Ivas John on guitar and vocals, accompanied by Jamie Pender on bass guitar, Shannon Meyer on guitar, and Charlie Morrill on drums. Frontman and songwriter John was born in Chicago, but has lived in Southern Illinois since his teens. Forging a blues/jazz/honkytonk sound that varies audibly in influence from one song to the next, but which has been compared to the likes of Keb Mo , Van Morrison, and Mose Allison, John and his band have played more than one-thousand shows together around the Midwest.

The new album, Good Days a Comin , is John s fifth full-length offering, but his first that is all-acoustic, and on it, he s up to some other new tricks. John has ditched the piano he s sometimes featured in the past; instead you ll hear fiddle, dobro, and mandolin on Good Days a Comin , along with upright bass and snare drum.

Its sound is more traditional than his previous work. John described it to Nightlife as folk, country blues, and bluegrass music with a high polish. These old and truly American musical styles are, he says, a deep well to draw from.

John also has new collaborators. Appearing on the album are husband-and-wife folk duo the Gordons, as well as Robert Bowlin, Tim Crouch, David Davis, and Ross Sermons, who John describes as perhaps Tasmania s greatest standup bass player, with whom he communicated and recorded by Skype. John speaks positively of the recording process. Being the youngest player on it by twenty-five years, I certainly learned a lot, he says.

All of the songs are original written by John or cowritten with his father, musician Edward John except for nods to folk, bluegrass, and country greats Doc Watson, Tom Paxton, John Hartford, and Merle Travis

01. Goin’ Back To Arkansas (2:59)
02. Here I Am (3:15)
03. Roll Mississippi (3:59)
04. Dark As A Dungeon (4:37)
05. Can’t Help But Wonder Where I’m Bound (3:54)
06. Greenville Trestle High (3:26)
07. All Along (4:39)
08. Things Ain’t Been The Same (3:38)
09. Keep Your Train Movin’ (3:11)
10. Payday Boogie (2:20)
11. Wrong Road Again (3:24)
12. Sunday Morning Blues (2:08)