Girls In Airports – Fables (2015) [FLAC 24-96]

Girls In Airports – Fables (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 38:05 minutes | 747 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | ©  Edition Records

Copenhagen group Girls in Airport is in fine form on Fables, its fourth release, and first on the Edition Records label. There are fewer big tunes than before although the band’s trademark melodic hooks and rhythmic drive, its understated lyricism and hypnotic grooves are all present in abundance. What’s been brought into sharper focus is the emotional currency in the writing and a narrative thread that seems to flow through these nine compositions. Significantly too, the percussive bite that Victor Dybbroe brought to Migration (Gateway Music, 2011) and Kaikoura (Gateway Music, 2013) contributes greatly to an intoxicating fusion of meditative lyricism and shamanistic funk.

1. Fables
2. Sea Trail
3. Randall’s Island
4. Mammatus
5. Aftentur
6. Aeiki
7. Dovetail
8. Yola
9. Episodes

Martin Stender – saxophone
Lars Greve – saxophones, clarinets
Mathias Holm – keyboards
Victor Dybbroe – percussion
Mads Forsby – drums