George Thorogood & The Destroyers – Move It On Over (1978/2003) [HDTracks 24-88,2]

George Thorogood and The Destroyers – Move It On Over (1978/2003)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 40:57 minutes | 840 MB | Genre: Pop, Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital Booklet | © New Rounder Records

Thorogood’s (and Rounder Record’s) first gold record. Thorogood & the Destroyers take on a wider range of tunes than on their blues-based debut, here adding their distinctive stamp, er, stomp! to Johnny Cash’s “Cocaine Blues,” and their hit rendition of the title tune, originally done by Hank Williams. Plenty of the hard blues stuff, too, including “The Sky Is Crying,” Chuck Berry’s “It Wasn’t Me,” and more. Originally released in 1978.

In 1978, George Thorogood was just beginning to make some noise on the blues-rock circuit. This was his second album, and what’s now almost a cliché then sounded fresh and vital. Thorogood’s energy, rousing vocals and driving guitar playing came roaring through on inspired covers of Elmore James’ “The Sky Is Crying,” Bo Diddley’s “Who Do You Love” and Chuck Berry’s “It Wasn’t Me.” He even did a credible Piedmont blues on Brownie McGhee’s “So Much Trouble.” While Thorogood went on to make more commercially succesful albums, the spirit and innocence in his early releases has seldom been duplicated. This Rounder CD reissue returns him to a simpler, and in some ways superior, period.

01. Move It On Over (00:04:21)
02. Who Do You Love? (00:04:22)
03. The Sky Is Crying (00:05:18)
04. Cocaine Blues (00:02:56)
05. It Wasn’t Me (00:04:07)
06. That Same Thing (00:03:10)
07. So Much Trouble (00:03:22)
08. I’m Just Your Good Thing (00:03:36)
09. Baby Please Set A Date (00:04:51)
10. New Hawaiian Boogie (00:04:44)