Elizabeth Joy Roe – John Field: Complete Nocturnes (2016) [Qobuz 24-96]

Elizabeth Joy Roe – John Field: Complete Nocturnes (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:25:55 minutes | 1,39 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Artwork: Front cover | @ Decca

Following her critically acclaimed coupling of the Britten & Barber Piano Concertos with the London Symphony Orchestra, Elizabeth Joy Roe enlightens the extraordinary world of John Field. Field, an Irish composer, is regarded as the “Father of the Nocturne” who predates Chopin. This release is the first recording of all 18 Nocturnes on a single album.

On this solo recital album from American pianist Elizabeth Joy Roe, her second release on Decca, she presents the complete set of 18 Nocturnes by John Field. The Irish composer, often called “the father of the nocturne,” paved the way and was a great influence on Chopin.

01 – Nocturne No.1 in E Flat Major, H.24
02 – Nocturne No.2 in C Minor, H.25
03 – Nocturne No.3 in A Flat Major, H.26
04 – Nocturne No.4 in A Major, H.36
05 – Nocturne No.5 in B Flat Major, H.37
06 – Nocturne No.6 in F Major, “Cradle Song”, H.40
07 – Nocturne No.7 in A Major, H.14
08 – Nocturne No.8 in E Flat Major, H.30
09 – Nocturne No.9 in E Minor, H.46
10 – Nocturne No.10 in E Major “Nocturne Pastorale”, H.54
11 – Nocturne No.11 in E Flat Major, H.56
12 – Nocturne No.12 in E Major “Nocturne Caractéristique: Noontide”, H.13
13 – Nocturne No.13 in C Major “Rêverie-Nocturne”, H.45
14 – Nocturne No.14 in G Major, H.58
15 – Nocturne No.15 in D Minor “Song Without Words”, H.59
16 – Nocturne No.16 in C Major, H.60
17 – Nocturne No.17 in C Major, H.61
18 – Nocturne No.18 in F Major, H.62