Carol Kidd – Nice Work (1987) [LINN 24-96]

Carol Kidd – Nice Work (1987)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:22 minutes | 849 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: LINN Records | Front cover

Carol Kidd is one of Britain’s best loved jazz singers, and one of her most respected ambassadors in the field worldwide. She has received favourable comparisons with Ella Fitzgerald and Peggy Lee and has had continued praise from modern and traditional performers. These 1987 recordings, are typical of her work, features a spectrum of standards from the Great American Songbook interpreted by a legendary UK singer.

The now-legendary Carol Kidd covers several American Songbook recordings from the likes of Gershwin, Rogers & Hart and Ellington & Strayhorn on Nice Work. On an album of such quality material, Kidd proves that she knows her way around a song, recording with both an ease and flair that never seems forced.

01 – Nice Work If You Can Get It
02 – Havin’ Myself A Time
03 – Isn’t It A Pity
04 – Bidin’ My Time
05 – Sing For Your Supper
06 – Daydream
07 – I’ll Take Romance
08 – New York On Sunday
09 – What Is There To Say
10 – Mean To Me
11 – I’ll Guess I’ll Have To Change My Plan
12 – Starting Tomorrow
13 – Confessions

Produced by Murray Smith.
– Sandy Taylor: piano
– Alex Moore: electric, acoustic and bass guitars
– Murray Smith: drums

Additional Musicians:
Bruce Adams: trumpet & flugel horn
Dave McLellan: trumpet
George Kidd: trombone
Frank Pantrini: tenor saxophone
Gordon Cruickshank: baritone saxophone