Carl Orff – Carmina Burana (1966/2014) [HDTT 24-192]

Carl Orff – Carmina Burana (1966/2014)
Eugen Jochum; Berlin Deutsche Opera Orchestra and Chorus; Schöneberg Boys Choir
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 55:44 minutes | 2,02 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital booklet

Eugen Jochum (1902-1987), was one of the last representatives of the traditional German school of conducting and the founder of the Bavarian Radio Symphony, Jochum was widely respected for his many recordings and the warmth and idiomatic assurance of his conducting of repertory from Bach to Hindemith. He was perhaps best known as a Bruckner specialist, recording the cycle of the symphonies and serving as president of the West German Bruckner Society. An ardent Catholic, Jochum resisted the political and moral extremism by the National Socialist regime in Germany. His humanist sympathies informed all of his music-making, and his daughter Veronica, a pianist, inherited herfather’s values. ‘Today, everyone thinks of me as a specialist in Bruckner’s symphonies,” Jochum said in a 1983 interview. “But I began with the music of Bach, Mozart and Beethoven. And it is to their music that I still feel closest.” This recording has an enviable pedigree as it was endorsed by Carl Or himself and was also the first coice of the BBC Radio 3 CD Review ‘Building a Library’ review in 1995.

‘Since its original release, Jochum’s performance has consistently been a prime recommendation for this much-recorded piece, Listening to it again in the superbly remastered sound, one can easily hear why. He pays great attention to detail – particularly with regard to tempo and articulation – yet the performance as a whole has a tremendous cogent sweep and the choruses have terrifiс power. The more reflective sections are not neglected, however, and movements such as “Stetit Puella”, with Janowitz sounding alluring and fey, have surely never been more sensitively handled. Stolze is ideal as the roasted swan and Fischer-Dieskau encompasses the very varied requirements of the baritone’s music with ease. In spite of the presence of more than 30 rivals in the catalogue, this distinguished performance, authorized by the composer and now sounding better than ever, easily retains its place at the head of the queue.

01 – Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi
02 – Primo vere
03 – Uf dem anger
04 – In Taberna
05 – Cour d’amours
06 – Ave formosissima
07 – O Fortuna

Recording Info: Recorded 1966 / Berlin, Germany.
Source used: DGG 4-track tape

Berlin Deutsche Opera Orchestra, conducted by Eugen Jochum
Gundula Janowitz (Soprano), Gerhard Stolze (Tenor), Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau (Baritone)
with Schöneberg Boys Choir