Ammoye – The Light (2017) [WEB FLAC]

Ammoye - The Light (2017) [WEB FLAC] Download

Artist: Ammoye
Album: The Light
Genre: Reggae
Year: 2017
Size: ~ 533 mb
Source: Digital Download
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Quality: lossless
Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz / 16 Bit


Toronto-by-way-of-Jamaica reggae artist Ammoye has a lot riding on her latest release, The Light. The Juno-nominated singer-songwriter deals in a traditional yet future-forward reggae sound — with R&B and Gospel influences — and recently overcame some health-related issues that put an emerging career on hold. The Light is her return, and a solidly produced one at that.

Running at 19 tracks, there is a lot to parse here, but the bulk of it has replay value. The standout “Outta Town” maintains an old-school rocksteady feel — equal parts smooth, raucous and vibrant — while “Soul Rebel” delivers an authentic dubwise mentality wrapped in an empowerment ethos that speaks well-worn yet worthy lyrics: “You have the authority / So stand up in solidarity.”

“Are You Ready” speaks to tribulations of the modern dating scene, and though “Good Vibes” is a good but not great ’80s R&B-style offering, the bop of “Don’t Count Me Out” hits the dub sweet spot, and is tailor-made for repeated spins. Ammoye is making a statement with The Light, shining positive attention on the quality of reggae music being made in this country. (eOne)


01. Bloody Fire (04:06)
02. Outta Town (03:54)
03. Are You Ready (03:00)
04. Soul Rebel (03:10)
05. Jah Jah (05:24)
06. Good Vibez (04:26)
07. Honeymoon (04:02)
08. Cool Gypsy Island (03:59)
09. The Light (03:26)
10. Reggae Rockit Boy (03:28)
11. Oneness (05:02)
12. Salvation, Redemption (04:51)
13. Where Do We Go (04:07)
14. Guns Off The Street (Wedda Man) (03:29)
15. Don’t Count Me Out (04:31)
16. Don’t Count Me Out (Dub Version) (04:33)
17. Inna Di Ghetto (03:52)
18. Sorry (03:55)
19. Shooting (03:34)